What actually happened when you tried balanced training?

lilith_eve

I know that this forum tends to advocate for positive-reinforcement based training and the use of minimally aversive approaches, and I am highly supportive of that.

I have been working intensively for 6 months using exclusively R+ training, including several CC training sessions per week with other dogs to help our GSD mix improve her leash reactivity towards other dogs. We also put her on fluoxetine.

Our dog has seen some improvement using intensive CC training, but she still is far from where we hoped to be at this stage. To put this in context, previously, whenever she saw any dog, she would usually have a meltdown 50+ m away, including barking, snarling, and lunging. Now when we see another dog while out on a walk, she will start to whine before progressively ramping up, and as long as we quickly remove her from the situation, she is fine. However, we still can’t pass another dog on the sidewalk across the street without her getting pretty upset.

We have spent a large amount of time (e.g., hundreds of hours) and money in training thus far (e.g., multiple R+ trainers), and are evaluating whether she might need a change in training methods.

Given how large this forum is, I am curious to hear about others’ experiences who have experimented with punishment (paired with reward) for leash reactivity\**.*

***It would also be really helpful to know if your dog seems to have primarily fear-based reactivity, excitement/frustration, or more pure aggression.

***I am particularly interested to hear from people who actually tried incorporating these methods for a significant period of time (e.g., a few weeks to months) to have a sense of their actual effectiveness, rather than people who tried a few times and then stopped. These don't seem like a good barometer of effectiveness, given that I imagine these methods take time to work, just like CC does.