bad dog or bad owner

cph

Hello all đź‘‹

My roommates (53 M, 50 F) have a blue heeler Australian shepherd (~2 F) in our two story home that has a small, rock backyard. They never walk her, haven't done any training really, and basically just give her basic toys if they remember and expect that her running around & barking in the backyard all day is enough of an activity. I am a full time student so I don't have a lot of time but I try to talk her out for little walks when I can and have managed to train her to not jump on me & to catch treats. My roommate is always yelling at her for barking too much, jumping on her & others, and last year the dog chewed up our couch.

Over the past week and a half she's bolted out the door several times (we live next to two major streets) and did so this morning when I was leaving for work. I ended up sprinting after her around the neighborhood for almost 30 mins, sweating, while she almost was hit by a car about 4 times and a dozen people walking around, coming out of their home, in cars, and literally someone in an electric wheelchair tried to help me. I have vocalized my concerns several times before that they're not giving their dog enough training and got so overwhelmed by the ordeal that I exploded on them for being irresponsible. My roommate said "it's just her breed" to me and I continued to reprimand her saying that she never walks her and it's her responsibility to train her. Am I overreacting?

@cph Sounds like lazy dog owners. It's sad to hear they don't spend the time and attention their dog needs. And good on you for making an effort with the walks! Heelers are bred to be working dogs that (if they're not running ~13 miles a day alongside cattle) need to be taught how and where to direct all their natural energy.