Petsmart classes raising my blood pressure

beanieweenie628

We got our 5 month old Goldendoodle into puppy class and tonight was our fourth week.

Every week I leave that store sweaty, aggravated and stressed out. My dog is great, she’s smart, sweet, silly, (too) friendly...but holy hell she’s so obnoxious in class. She L O V E S other dogs and people.

My boyfriend and I started training when we brought her home at 8 weeks. She’s really good with the basics and we’ve worked on our own “language”. She’s beginning to walk nice on leash. It works for us. All of that goes out the window the moment we enter the parking lot. She’s so distracted between strangers giving her attention and the other puppies, I feel like we don’t accomplish much.

The trainer is borderline rude and it mortifies me while she calls out my dogs behavior in front of the class. We know. My dog can’t keep her shit together. She jumps and we are working on it with “off” and sit”. Tonight the trainer lets my dog jump all over her while she’s rattling off all the reasons why she shouldn’t jump. This distracted the dog to the point where she didn’t sit at all. I felt my eye start to twitch.

I’ve heard good things about Petsmart classes and liked it was within budget, but I feel like this is draining all my patience and energy.

@beanieweenie628 The unfortunate reality is that not every Petsmart is going to have the same instructor. And just because someone has the credentials to teach doesn't mean they ought to. It's a shame that your instructor belittles you and makes you feel bad about your training - that's unprofessional and unproductive at best.

A few options you have:

- If you're really annoyed with the class and don't feel like you get any value out of it, then cut your losses and don't go. Why would you pay $20/hr for someone to make you upset? There are more than enough resources online to help you train your dog.