Considering adopting an adult GSD (appox 3-4 years) from a shelter - what things should I consider?

alinka

I've been considering adopting a GSD for a few months now. There is an adult GSD in a shelter about 3 hours away in rural North Carolina. These places tend to be high-kill, so I'm interested in driving out there to meet him. I've never had a GSD before, and have never adopted an adult dog. It is also important that I have a 7 year-old daughter (who is kind and respectful to animals).

If I decide to take the drive, what things should I consider or check for when I meet this GSD? He was surrendered, but this backwards shelter in hickville nowhere did not bother to take a history on him. The only thing that they can tell me is that he was already neutered and he "seems friendly when people walk by his kennel". Any tips?

@alinka Kudos for you looking into rescuing a GSD! There a few things you can do there to check the dog's temperment. First obvious is the dog too scared to come up and approach you? When you calmly talk to and reach out to the dog, does he or she wag their tail?

A tail tucked between its legs might go up to wagging after a little while. There's a lot of shock and possibly sadness in being in a shelter. How is the dog when you take your keys out and toss them on the floor? Does the dog run away or does the dog slowly approach? That will show you if it's curious and has some confidence. Also ask the shelter if the dog has been food aggressive when they've fed it.

When you get there, you can ask them at the shelter if the dog looks like it comes from working lines or more pet lines. Working lines usually have more drive and like to do what it was meant to do which is "work," so it will have a much more stronger desire to play ball, train, etc. If it comes from pet lines then it would be a lot easier for a novice/beginner to train.