How to say I’m done

chris_1989

For a number of reasons I made the decision in the first week of this year to leave the grooming industry and I have zero intention of ever returning. I originally decided that I would make an exception for the one little dog I have been grooming out of its home every month for about 8 years now. It is only one day a month as opposed to grooming 40-60hrs a week. That was until I groomed the dog last month (after I had left the job). I got my calendars second appointment reminder two days before and was immediately filled with anxiety. I was unable to sleep for those nights and the day of I was close to anxiety attack status until I was finished and driving home. It does not help that about 6 months ago the dog started dramatically frog dogging at the slightest touch (and I mean the slightest) and being hella uncooperative in general. Not aggressive but the grooms now take me at least 30min more with the majority of the entire groom time spent trying to get the dog to use its legs. Today I woke up to my week before reminder and my anxiety is in full effect right now.

I can’t and don’t want to do it anymore. But the dogs owners are so nice and over the years I have attended holiday dinners (my family lives in other states and as y’all know this job does not allow us to take any time off during November and December) and am treated like part of their family. They even purchased me a table and small force dryer (which I paid them back for with four free grooms) when I first started doing this. Being as the appointment is next week I am going to do it. But I think this will be the last one. I simply do not know how to say I’m done, but again a huge reason I left was to stop living in anxiety 24/7. Any advice would be appreciated.