Owning a dog and working 8 hours a day

hanss1

Hello friends!

I have done some internet research on this topic, but I would like to have a discussion with people who are invested in dog care.

Im single, and work 8 hrs a day (standard working adult I suppose). There's a chance in the future I can get a remote job (I'm a programmer), but currently I'm in office.

My internet research has told me that it's theoretically possible to have a pup and still work 8 hours a day, and ive known people who have done it... BUT that does not mean it would be a good situation for a dog.

So, my question, is it possible to take good care of and give enough love to a dog while single and working full time? Does anyone do that? What breeds lend themselves to that? Or would it be better to adopt an adult dog?

Let me know what you think. I appreciate any input.

@hanss1 I was in a similar situation, single/working 7-3:30 in an office. It's really, really exhausting caring for a puppy alone. It can definitely be done if you have a support system in place (family, friends, neighbor, dog walker) or you thrive on little sleep. I'm fortunate to have some flexibility at work where I was able to run home to let him out at 10:30/11, and if I couldn't a friend who worked near my house was able to.

Yes it is possible to take good care of and give enough love to a dog while single and working. But make sure to do the same for yourself, which was WAY more challenging for me. I've found that I prefer the slower pace of senior dogs because it lets me breathe. Mine sleep all day, can be trusted not to chew on things, need minimal exercise and don't need to go out 3 times a night haha

@praiseyehoshua This is a very good answer - I do have family i think would be very supportive

I was definitely considering an older dog... Especially since it's my first one