New Trainer - Need advice on how to train anxious, overstimulated, separation-anxiety-prone pup (whose sister-pup is in another room!)

cphill

New trainer here! Need any and all advice. :)
  • I'm an assistant trainer, and have just been assigned one of my first one-on-one cases with an 8- 9 m/o pup. (So I don't want to mess it up!)

She should have received training earlier - but was in and out of foster homes. She now needs basic puppy training, and manners, to start. She's had *some* puppy training already, and seems to grasp the bare basics, (ie recall, sit.) I successfully taught her "touch" pretty quickly, too.
  • However, I'm supposed to be teaching her "stay" this week. But she barely grasps "sit" (just stares at me blankly half the time). So I feel I need to re-review and reinforce that first. Any advice on this? Should I approach it differently? I feel pressure to teach her what the parents want, and quickly, but if I can't get her to redirect or even respond to sit, how can I teach her to "stay"?
(Speaking of which...any tips/advice on the best way to teach "stay?")
  • Second, the main conundrum is this: she's newly adopted, high-strung, and full of tense energy. A good girl, no aggression in her, just a ball of nervous energy. She's already developing separation anxiety and she's only been in her new home 2-3 weeks. She's very much a shelter pup, has shelter mentality (anxious, overstimulated, difficult to refocus and de-escalate). Plus, she's a large breed and that makes it difficult to manage her verbally (we try to avoid "molding" at all costs, though my sense is that this isn't always a bad technique. But we try to use positive reinforcement only w/ clicker training/secondary reinforcement like treats and verbal praise "yes!", above all else)