My dog expresses her anal glands multiple times per week

tomtomtom

To start, this has been going on for at least a year. Fortunately, her vet doesn’t think it is harmful to her health.

I have a pit bull/border collie mix. She is a 3 year old rescue. She has deep set anal glands, which is why (I assume) she doesn’t express them while pooping like most dogs. I try to express them for her every week but it is difficult to do because of their placement. I used to work as a dog bather and have expressed way too many anal glands than I might have preferred, but hers are the most difficult.

Anyways, the glands will express when she relaxes every now and then. Usually it’s on the couch or carpet. We keep all furniture covered with blankets for easier cleanup but I’m at my wits end. This happens at least once a week, but sometimes up to 3 times.

Has anyone else had this problem? Has anything helped? We have tried changing her diet, adding and removing fish oils, adding and removing fiber, expressing them weekly. The only thing that has helped lessen it is removing fish oils, which is unfortunate because she has skin allergies. Any advice would be extremely appreciated.

Thank you all!

Edit:
I talked to her vet about the Glandex that a lot of people have been recommending. She’s all for it! I ordered some today so I will update in 3-4 weeks and let everyone know how it’s working. Thank you all for the advice!

Edit 2:
Well the Glandex works! She’s still leaks some but not as frequent. When she does it isn’t as stinky and it doesn’t linger like it used to. I ended up buying her the powdered Glandex because it’s hit or miss if she will eat chewable meds. She absolutely loves it! It smells like a powdered gravy mix and we have to feed her in portions because she will inhale her food otherwise. Thank you all again for the advice and suggestions. Y’all are life (and couch) savers!