Looking for tips from other groomers who have dealt with Lagottos and their crazy owners…

cicion

Don’t ask me how, but I have suddenly become the “expert” in my area for grooming Lagotto Romagnolos. I now have multiple clients coming to me with this breed because I am the only groomer they have worked with who doesn’t just give their dog a “doodle” haircut.
My first customer that started referring me to everyone knows that they’re uncommon and that I hadn’t groomed them before I started working with her, so recently she printed out an 11 page PDF booklet with tips on grooming them that was clearly intended for owners of the breed with no grooming experience to use as a reference (here is the PDF ) Even with regular grooming (every 5-8 weeks) I’m finding their coat really difficult to work with since it is so thick and curly and just seems to want to matt up. I’ve been grooming for over 10 years and w have a lot of experience when it comes to curly coats but am struggling even with all the tips and tricks I use on other matted breeds.
Is there anyone out there that’s groomed this breed before that can share some insight on what has and hasn’t worked for them with this breed? TIA

@cicion This is almost certainly not helpful, but seriously what is up with their owners? Someone also brought a very similar (might have even been the same, it was a while so I can’t remember) booklet, insisting the groomer needed to look at the nail trimming diagrams because ‘their nails are different!’ The diagram in question was a completely standard dog nail trimming diagram, of course.

I’m really interested what they consider not a doodle haircut, honestly.