it took me all day to do 3 dogs…

jaikyuveh

but i’m still proud of myself.

i’ve been at this for a few months, so i know i should be faster. especially since the services weren’t even full grooms.

but i stuck with it. i did it. and i actually wasn’t filled with anxiety about it all.

it’s just been me in the shop today, so i’ve been able to do things more my way. i can use the happy hoodies. i don’t have to fully dry the dog with the HV with the condenser cone on. i can go slower with the dogs that need it.

most importantly, i don’t have someone breathing down my neck, berating me for not doing things exactly like THEY want me to do them… then saying they would never deny me water or breaks or yell at me.

i wish it was like this every day.

eta: i also actually got to keep tips for dogs i worked on!!!

@jaikyuveh Hun, I've been doing this for ten years and regularly have days that I only groom 3-4 dogs. Granted, it's usually doodles or poodles, but still. Don't let people tell you how to work, just put out good grooms, and you'll have happy returning customers.

@seeingbabylon that’s definitely my goal! i’m still in training right now, but i’m way more concerned with quality over quantity. i’m at a corporate rn but im just trying to learn what i can so i can go to a better salon or work for myself.

@jaikyuveh As I’m just a bather, perhaps there’s something I don’t understand. But if your people aren’t treating you well, or teaching you in a productive way, it would seem like they want you to fail, and I would either confront them, or talk to a superior