Grooming my own dogs…. Spoiler: groomers deserve 1000x what they are paid

motherhen

Today I groomed my two doodles. I’ve been doing this for the past 3 years or so, really for serious 2 years ago. One year ago I got a grooming table and better clippers. Two months ago I got better shears and some grooming clothes. I follow all the tips and tricks. I have three clippers I used for different parts of their bodies and to keep at least one on the charger. I am not great. But, I get the job done and most people probably just think my dogs are shaggy. (One is mixed coat - she’s an f1, but still gets mats on legs, bottom, ears, and throat - the other is 75% poodle and her hair is straight and curly all over. My little whirlpool doodle). Anywho, I work hard at keeping my dogs healthy, I promote doodle love, and am clear with everyone I talk to that either learn to keep them trimmed short, intensely brush them every day, and/or have them professionally groomed every 6 weeks. (Depending on preferred style daily brushing may still be required).

All that to say, is that I have so many hair splinters - all along my face and ears and eyes. I wear glasses, I wore special grooming clothes, and yet, here I am. Holy cats this doesn’t feel fair to ever make anyone deal with! I’ll deal with it because it’s my dogs I’m caring for, but y’all, no one could pay me to deal with this discomfort for a dog that isn’t mine. (I’ve showered and took breaks to wash my face throughout the groom)
Kudos and mad respect to you all!

@faithinmysavior Thank you so much! The Bernedoodle is only partially furnished so it is always an adventure and a puzzle figuring out how to shape her face. Half the hair is soft and short and then half is long and wirey. And then the poodle hair on top 🤣
I appreciate your kind feedback - thank you!