Did I make a mistake?

emilysmith

When I was deciding whether to adopt a puppy or not, everyone told me I was overreacting and should definitely get him. But now I’m not so sure and am worried I made a mistake.

I’m a nurse, I work 12 hours shifts. Between my husband and I’s schedule there are 6 days out of the month where he is alone for 10 hours. On these days I have a dog walker come twice for half an hour for potty breaks, exercise and play. He is never alone for more than 3-3 1/2 hours at a time. Other than these 6 days, someone is home all day.

Today is day 1 of leaving him alone, he loves his crate and right now because of his age he sleeps a lot. But I’m worried for when he gets older. I’m worried I’ve made a mistake. Even though it’s only 6 days I feel it’s so unfair for him. I just love him so much.

Please tell me I’m overreacting and that I’m not a terrible pet parent 😩

@emilysmith Don't worry. 6 days of the month isn't many. 3 1/2 hours will be hard for a young puppy though. If he's having accidents or getting stressed out, I'd get someone to stay with him. (Short spans of alone time are good for puppies though) You could also consider a playpen setup with potty pads and water, and keep the visits too.

A slightly older puppy will likely just sleep those 3 1/2 hours straight and be good with the visits you have planned. It wouldn't be okay for a puppy to live like that daily, but 6 times a month should be just fine.

@markfred We did numerous trial runs while I was home, he has no trouble holding his pee for 3 1/2 hours 😊. Once he’s a bit older we will likely just barricade the kitchen and let him have that room.

@markfred Most of people get their puppies at 2-3 months, by that time you can leave them for 2-3 hours. X months old = X hours to hold his pee = X hours to be alone.