Am I the only one who doesn’t like using the term balanced trainer?

gineke

As a trainer I try my best to avoid things that my dog and my clients dogs find highly averse, my dog works amazing on her E-collar and prong, but acts like she’s going to die if she’s wearing a gentle leader lol. Do what works for your dog!
Anyways… I hate calling myself a balanced trainer.

One I don’t feel like I really am a balanced trainer… I’d say I use about 70 percent reward based methods and the other 30 I implement the prong and e-collar for fine tuning but I’m not using either tool as a way to punish a dog.

But because of the usage of prongs and E-collars I don’t really fall under Reward based or LIMA.

I was giving a business card to someone recently when they asked what my philosophy was, when I replied that I fall under the balanced category they replied “oh so like The Dog Daddy”, which personally isn’t the impression I ever want to make.

Anyone else struggle with this? Have you found a terminology that works for you?

@gineke I'm not a dog trainer. But I would've defended the label balanced trainer and said the dog daddy is not a trainer and he's an abusive POS that has nothing to do with balanced training. I think people need education on balanced training. Sensational media blows up people like dog daddy and they don't show you the real balanced trainers like Robert cabal, Michael Ellis, Tom Davis etc.

@17xande I did by best to speak that he does not represent what I do and what many others do but they had no interest anymore unfortunately. It’s a shame what media has done with dog training sometimes…