Those Who Have Left the Industry …

dante116

UPDATE
Thank you everyone who commented on this post. I went with my gut and applied in a completely different industry (finance) and start my new job tomorrow with a top 5 bank (I’m in Canada). I promise to always tip my groomer and be on time for appointments - and I’ll never get a doodle. Good luck to all of you still in the trenches 💜💜💜.

… do you regret it? I’ve been grooming for over 5 years and find myself struggling to come to work the last few months. I thought it was burnout originally, but I’ve had multiple vacations and only work 3 or 4 days a week.

I’m so tired of my body being physically “abused” (dog bites, rough dogs, overweight dogs, etc), disrespectful clients, and the fact that I literally have NO benefits (pension in Canada, paid time off, health care, etc). What the heck is the point of it all? I love animals but ever since Covid …customers are jerks. And don’t get me started on doodles - I wish people would stop letting poodles f*** everything.

Anyways, for those that left - do you regret it? What do you do now?

Feeling discouraged. 🫤

@dante116 I've been grooming for close to 30 years, and I can't count the times I've been burned out. I've worked in vets offices, corporate and many private salons. I've done mobile and currently have my own mobile business. 60, and my body is just about busted down. Both knees hurt, and my back goes out about every 6 months. It's a hard demanding career. I don't know at my age about starting over, so I just plug away. Not to say I don't enjoy it at times, and of course, I love my clients and their pets. But it does get tiring

@natasreficul Wow! That is an incredibly long career ❤️. If you don’t mind me asking, are you able to comfortably retire soon? I hope this doesn’t sound rude at all, but I don’t know many groomers past 40 and my biggest concern is retirement.