Private vs corporate grooming salon hours

smileyface50

Hi I was wondering if corporate salons usually have shorter hours for their groomers/bathers than private salons or if they’re about the same? I understand most people probably put in long days but I’ve been a bather/kennel tech going on about 2 months now and EVERY day is at least 12 hours and on Sundays when closed I still have to go let out the dogs at 8 pm. I have no down time whatsoever. 2 days ago I went in at 7:45 and left at 9:22 at night. The owner insists on trying to get in 20 dogs a day even though I’m the only bather one Thursday…I don’t see how I’m supposed to be able to physically do that?! They’ve had to jump in to help on Thursdays because I can’t do them all. Also,they’re teaching me a little about grooming so if it’s a bath dog that’s an Aussie or something I have to go over the feet with a 4 blade and trim the feet and do sanitary and all that then get a bandana and take the photo and all that and idk see how I can do all that and get all the dogs they want in a day?! I’m exhausted. One girls last day is tomorrow and idk if they have found someone else to help on the other days yet so next week should be fun

@smileyface50 20 dogs in a day? You're being overworked. Some Petsmart salons are open til 9, but you don't come in at 7:45, you'd come in at like 1. I don't know about PSP or Petco now, Co used to be 7 or 8, but again....you wouldn't be there for over 12 hours.