Non-Groomer starting a grooming salon. Please advise!

sheepofjesus

Hello! I am not a professional dog groomer, but am experienced with dogs. In my area, groomers are incredibly busy, with full books 4-5 weeks in advance. The plan to open a new grooming salon was ignited by seeking a solution to my own problem as a dog owner, but has been fueled by the demand in my area and the supply of dog groomers, given there are 3 schools in the metro.

My plan is to run a very small operation with 3 people working per shift. I want to make this a great place to work. Here are a few questions I have for you folks that are currently working in a grooming shop, however, please also drop any additional advice you can give.
  • What is the recommended staffing ratio between experienced groomers, novice/apprentice groomers, bathers, etc?
  • What is the recommended duties/responsibilities for each role?
  • Commission vs. hourly vs. salary - what is your preference for each particular role and why?
  • What have you found to be the best schedule (how many hours can you work comfortably and how often do you take breaks)?
  • Is it best for the shop to provide tools or for staff to supply their own (like a barber shop)?
  • Do you have any positive or negative experiences with straight-through ONLY service (e.g. no staggering appointments and no kenneling for dry time)?
  • In your opinion, what is the best way to estimate an appointment duration at the time of booking (a table based on breed and service?)?
Thank you all in advance for your thoughtful advice!