Need honest answers on getting this ball (maybe) rolling…

james1131

I have had a love for golden retrievers ever since I got my first golden pup as a kid. I mean, I absolutely ADORE them. Their temperament, their sweet faces, their gorgeous coat, their snuggles, all of it. In my book, they’re best dogs - hands down. And NOW, I’m finally at a point in my life where (I think) I may feasibly be able to turn this passion/obsession into a hobby.

After talking with my husband, we are seriously considering dipping our toes into showing/breeding. I have a biology degree and a strong interest in (and understanding of) genetics. I work in a hospital setting part-time, and had considered certifying my current golden to be a therapy dog, but ultimately didn’t have the time while I was in grad school. Then I had two kids. Then life happened. And now she is about to turn 10. But things are finally slowing down a bit. (To be clear, never considered breeding our current pup in her younger years; she is spayed).

Anyway, we’ve been running our finances trying to figure out when the right time to plunge in would be. I’ve purchased several books to start better educating myself, and really don’t expect to even start looking for another dog (with the intention to show/breed) for at least another year or so.

So now my questions for you fine folks:

1) What is the honest annual cost of breeding? I heard the first year or two is pricier. After that, I’ve heard you may break even or possibly profit a bit. Give it to me straight - will I be bleeding money? If so, how much?

2) Does it make sense to have only one dog that you focus on showing/breeding to begin? Or do most have several? Should I invest my all in one pup initially?

3) I have an almost 3 yr old and a 5 yr old. I work 24 hrs a week. Husband works FT. Is this manageable?