My male dog won’t breed with my female

justdana

Hi, I am new to dog breeding and need some help/advice. I have one male Boston terrier and a female Boston terrier, my female is on day 11 of her heat but my male doesn’t seem quite interested, he whines and sometimes goes to jump on her back to hump her. My female is ready because she keeps sticking her self in his face and she arches her back, but he only really licks and walks away. When he does hump her it’s only for a couple of seconds before he gets off. Any advice would be helpful really. They are both around the same age F 2, M 1 1/2.

@justdana your male is too young to be bred. id be glad you're getting extra time to research breeding ethically before you end up with a byb litter of an already common breed. crate and rotate!

@justdana BYB is the term for a Back Yard Breeder. Typically, an inexperienced person that is not following recommendations for ethical breeding practices, or a person breeding their dogs for relatively quick profit and failing to test properly.

A number of heath tests that should be performed prior to selecting breeding pairs are only considered accurate if the dog is 2 years of age or older.

@justdana that's not what health testing refers to. it refers to checking things like their elbows, hips, heart, etc through OFA to ensure they won't be passing on things like hip dysplasia or dilated cardiomyopathy. it's not an annual vet check, it's an in depth check with x-rays, ultrasounds et cetera.

look into your breed club's recommended and required health testing.

@mimi94 Yes you need spend time on the Boston terrier club of America website finding out all that is required.They will have a list but also unless you’re an expert in Boston terrier structure, you need to attend an AKC confirmation show and have your sire and bitch independently judged to confirm they are structurally, correct in order to breed them.