I’m losing my patience and I feel awful for it. I’m new to this and I’m lost. Please help

fritzc

My 7mo old mini dachshund is exhausting me with the reactivity. It’s especially bad in front of our apartment. It’s E V E R Y T H I N G!!!!! All the leaves have fallen and it’s windy, he’s so distracted running after leaves that he won’t go potty. Out in public is a little better but around home it’s awful. He throws himself forward and goes up on hind legs front legs up in the air like he’s going to fly away. It can be anything too, plastic bags are the archenemies, a piece of siding that’s fallen off, the snow shovel leaning against the building, a pop can randomly on the lawn. The worst is when this dog next door is out (really tho it’s when he sees anyone/thing is around the apartment). These people let their dog out the back door because it’s a house with a fenced in yard and the edge comes right up to my not fenced in yard. So this dog comes out and barks like f#+!king crazy at my dog NON STOP even as the owner eventually comes out to holler at it it keeps going and I have to pick my dog up as he’s in lose it mode trying to struggle out of my arms

I’m trying really hard to remind myself that he’s still new here (as in on this plant lol) a lot of things are firsts for him and he’s trying to figure out the world and I’d be going crazy all the time too if Everything was so much bigger than me and constantly surprising me. Ive never owned a dog before and I’m doing the best I can but I’m feeling defeated. I’m a child therapist so I’m well versed in principles of behavior modification but I can’t even get him to a point where I could mark and reward because it’s so nonstop especially with this other dog