I’m kinda stuck here

nadinepeony

Hello everyone! I currently have an 8 month old golden-lab. Well, I say golden lab but he has about 4% rottie in him, as weird as it sounds. I’m not a total noob when it comes to breeding I’ve learned a lot in the past year. But here’s my dilemma, as I mentioned my golden lab boy is 4% rottie according to embark. According to some research I’ve done, the reason it’s shrunk to 4% now is because the grandparents and parents have been goldens, and golden lab mixes.

Golden-labs are a really great breed for working dogs like for example, service work. Which is what my boy is training for, he also has an amazing food drive. But anyway, would it be ok if I were to breed him with another reputable breeder with either a golden or golden-lab? (Assuming he has good OFAs, I haven’t done them yet) or would I be considered a backyard breeder? Because from my research it sounds like the rottie part would just get washed out. By the golden and lab DNA. I came here bc I wanted to get some help from other breeders. Thanks in advance!

Input/advice would be great, I’m still a noob when it comes to the scientific aspect of it all

ETA: he ended up washing out of being an SD, was neutered, and had to rehome him due to severe behavioral issues that made him a danger to other puppies

@lestertiek That’s why I asked about the scientific aspect because for the majority he is golden-lab, and from what I’ve heard if i were to breed him with a pure golden retriever or golden lab that that would essentially diminish the last bit of Rottweiler. But Idk for sure so that’s why I’m askin