How much exercise does an ACD actually need? How do you know if they need more?

bibleloverbill

Hey guys. Sorry for all the posts; like I've mentioned, I'm a new owner of a 2-year-old ACD and I'm still learning all the ropes. It was a surprise adoption due to tragic circumstances with her previous family, so we got kind of thrown in the deep end, lol. My girl has been home for a little over two weeks and she seems to be doing okay. We kept it very calm and low key at first to try and make the transition easier.

Currently, she gets 3 walks/day (each 30-90 mins) and some active play time in the backyard. We're trying to do bigger adventures/hikes on the weekend. She has a lot of puzzles and toys. When she's with us in the house, she just wants to cuddle/be velro and she hasn't been to zoom-y, nor has she been destructive.

Is that a good indication that her needs are being met? Is there something else we should watch out for? Her leash manners are NOT good (😅), so walks can be a little challenging -- is pulling a sign that she needs more running or just a sign that we need to practice our heel?

Thanks for the help! We're novice dog owners who live in an urban area, so we want to make sure that she's getting what she needs.

*ETA:* Thank you for the tips and the reassurance, everyone! I appreciate it SO much.

@bibleloverbill It sounds like she’s getting plenty of activity and mental stimulation, great job! Pulling is a sign that she needs to work on leash manners ☺️ We also add training to our walks to make things a little more engaging (stop, sit, stay, shake, etc.). We always have a treat pouch on walks (could also use a toy if she’s more toy-motivated).