Golden Doodle

curty

I have recently adopted a beautiful black 1 year old golden doodle. Both of her parents were also golden doodles. She’s got a lovely temperament and is incredibly smart. I’d love to responsibility breed her but I am a novice. I’ve only owned fixed dogs. What breed is ideal for her to mate with? How do you go about finding a mate? What are some other good things to know? I would like to do everything the right way - I’m just not sure what that means.

@curty Before you even think about finding a stud dog, understand a few things.

The first is the cost of breeding dogs. Stuff goes wrong, and when it does, medical intervention is not cheap. I have no idea where you live, but having a vet who can do an emergency C-section, is really high on the list of things you need to be able to pay for.

Also health testing: DNA testing is very cheap. Doing proper testing on hips, elbows, hearts and eyes is all expensive and requires seeking out specialized vets. I did my young dog's hips and elbows over the summer, and that was just over $1,000. Eyes are about $100 or so, and cardiac is about $500 or so.

And...the quality of stud dog you will find for a pet doodle is super minimal. The Lab, Golden and Poodle clubs of America all have published position papers on breeding doodles. No one who is a member of those clubs will breed their nice, fully health tested dogs to one.

That would leave you using doodles who are not health tested who have questionable temperaments, etc.

Finally, let's say you breed her and now you have 10 doodle puppies in your house/apartment. How are you going to sell them? What if you can't find homes for 3 or 4 or 5 of them? Are you ok dumping them at a shelter?

Dog breeding is not for the faint of heart: it's why I always say it's far easier to write a check, then to breed dogs.

@curty Do her last 4 generations have full health testing for each of the breeds in their mix?