For those on a budget, what dna test do y’all choose?

marinaamz29

I know embark is the best, but are there other cheaper ones that are almost if not just as good? Also, I’ve never got a dna test before. Do y’all get the breed ID one or health one? My male dog is CKC registered, but I don’t know if that’s enough to stud him out since I’ve never done it before.

@marinaamz29 Start with what tests are required for your breed. (For example, some breeds JUST require an annual eye exam (CERF) and to know PRA status- in that case, you could just get the DNA test for PRA specifically from UCDavis or GenSol Diagnostics, depending on which one offered it for your breed.) I don't think there's ANY breed that has all the health problems that Embark tests for, so you can focus on the ones that are relevant for your breed.

All that said- genetic testing is usually the cheapest testing you'll do when it comes to breeding dogs- hips, elbows, eyes, heart, thyroid are all very common and pretty much all of these will cost more than an Embark kit. (Eyes may be cheaper if you can find a testing clinic at a dog show or something.

@marinaamz29 CKC as in Continental Kennel Club? or CKC as in Canadian Kennel Club. If Continental, you have a dog of questionable pedigree and should not breed him. The Embark panel is the cheapest part of health testing. Here's a link to see what health test your breed should have: https://ofa.org/chic-programs/browse-by-breed/ And you should read what a Resposible breeder is and then try to become one: https://www.reddit.com/r/dogs/wiki/identifying_a_responsible_breeder/ It will mean starting with a well breed dog and titling the dog as well as doing the appropriate health testing plus DNA testing. More ethical, responsible breeders are needed but irresponsible breeding in not needed, so full stop don't breed if you are not going to title, health test plus DNA your dog.