Double checking my breeder's advise..

guevaraj

My toypoodles breeder recommended TRESemmé shampoo and conditioner on my new puppy.

I'm a veterinarian and I was taught that the pH of dog skin is different and human products can cause irritation.

However, I'm also aware that Poodles have hair and not fur. Maybe there's benefits of using 'hair' products that im unaware of??? Since my dog has no skin condition, if professional groomers endorse this option, I'm going to follow the recommendation and give it a try.

Let me know what you think!

Ps if you have products you recommend for Poodles, I'd appreciate that a lot!!

Thanks

@guevaraj Definitely do not listen to that advice and follow what you were taught. There are sooo many amazing grooming products on the market formulated for a dogs coat that will do the job infinitely better than cheap super market human shampoo. That sounds like some old school BS. I personally use Bestshot products. Natures specialties and Chris Christensen also make amazing lines of shampoos and conditioners. But that’s for me over here in the US. Idk what’s available on foreign markets if your abroad…. But stick to animal formulated products!

@guevaraj Stick with animal specific formulated products .

I'm using millys at the moment (natutal , organic UK made ) and its gorgeous. I especially love their coconut and shea butter for poodles.

It's a high concentration 32:1 dilution ratio and its just really lovely to use .

@guevaraj I think its old advice from before dog shampoos were improved. I use doglyness which is a European brand but I have also heard good things about chris christensen, plush puppy etc.

You want to get a leave in conditioner and dilute it with water in a spray bottle to help with brushing.

@esmerelda Thanks for the tip! Plush puppy seems to be available in Australia too. I'll give it a go sometime.

Ahhh I was wondering what I was meant to use for brushing.