Chase the Cattle Dog X

looseleeroy

Hey everyone, I'm new to this reddit page and was hoping this could become a good resource for me as I navigate raising my new Cattle Dog cross, Chase!

Chase is just three days shy of seven months old, and I adopted almost two months ago from a rescue. He is 50% Cattle Dog and 50% Australian Shepherd but looks wise is certainly leaning more on the cattle dog side of things as you can see in the picture. He is sweet as pie and incredibly smart, but also stubborn as all hell and much more difficult to train so far than my retriever ever was. Realizing very quickly I need to alter my expectations of this dog!

If anyone can offer any advice or insights on how to train him effectively, or general quirks about cattle dogs that I may need to just accept as inevitable (lol) I would really appreciate it!

Chase

@looseleeroy My first heeler was smarter than me. I had to learn that if she took stubborn and would not listen to me, I better go see why. Dog refuses to leave house? Well, I'll be damned the fridge is wide open. Dog refuses to leave a certain corner of yard and is barking...looks there it's a snake. Mostly just little stuff, but I (a woman) also traveled with me and just the dog pretty often, and if my dog didn't like a particular person I listened. I felt safe going anywhere with her.

Also she picked up on my emotions very well. I didn't particularly like my father inlaw, he was a decent guy but his mouth just annoyed me, and my dog definitely noticed that and ran with it. She was rude to that poor man until the day he died. So just be sure to keep your emotions in check because they will pick up on it. My grandma on the other hand, I loved dearly, and anytime we visited my dog would calm the hell down and just sit with Grandma and me. Grandma always said she was the sweetest calmest dog and I could never convince her otherwise.

Fucking loved that dog.