Are corporate groomers not allowed to grooming even slightly difficult dogs?

jwf

First let me say, THIS IS NO SHADE TO THE GROOMERS THEMSELVES! I have worked Corp, I know the hell they put you through.

I am a vet groomer and specialize in basically the rejects from all other salons. I do both sedated and non sedated grooms. And sedation isn't always unconscious, sometimes it's just Trazadone or something similar.

When I first started working at the vet hospital, I went around to salons on town with cookies and business cards. I told the other salons who I was and if they have any pets they are unable to groom due to health or severe behavior issues, I am here if they wanted to recommend me. And let me tell you, that worked almost too well 😅 but I absolutely appreciate community over competition.

But over the last year I have been getting a lot of Corp recommendations for animals that I would have absolutely been able to do when I worked there. Which is why I wonder if Corp has changed a lot in the last 5 years. For instance, today I have a Maltese coming in cause it barked a lot. And next week I have a 6 month old Yorkie puppy who they suggested the owner sedate. (Like Yorkie puppies are hell spawn, I get it, but sedation for a puppy seems extreme to me)

It's not just one Corp, but both PetSmart and Petco I'm getting these from.

Did it change so much where you can only groom like the best behaved dogs? I know likely a large part is those damn windows and being in a busy store with lookieloos who don't have any understanding about what we do. I know grooming a difficult dog with that pressure is sometimes not worth it. So I get it. But my God these corporations need to figure out something cause I can't think it's good for y'all's paychecks to keep sending so many clients elsewhere 😩

@jwf So from what I understand Petco can't take pets on ANY calm down meds.