X-post from r/managers: Grooming salon manager here. How to deal with upper management?

gigrex

So, I kind of fell into a management position by default. I have no prior management experience, but since I've been the only groomer within a dog daycare for months... I'm the manager of the salon by default.

...I don't want this responsibility. I'm not good at it. I hate dealing with others' problems. I run far away from stress when at all possible.

So, here's my issue.

I've recently hired two more groomers. Both are friends of mine. That's not the issue.

We are paid cash. Every Friday. I am NOT in charge of anyone's payroll. I check my own numbers, initial off on them, and that's it. I'm only in charge of hiring, care of the salon, grooming, customer complaints, supplies, scheduling, and promotion to some extent.

So, I hired my very good friend for one day a week. Yesterday was payday. She did not work the week of the 4th. She has worked the week before that, and this past week. Her first pay was held back per company policy, and she was paid that last Friday. So, technically she was not owed money yesterday. Since I am not in charge of payroll, I didn't realize this. It's not my job to keep track of this.

She drove to the business around 4:45 to collect her pay. I was still grooming a dog, and had cleaning to complete, and was in a rush to finish so I could leave to pick my children up on time from daycare. I was under quite a bit of stress at the time.

Paper checks were available for the daycare staff, but my cash pay was not. Hers wasn't there either. Normally, one of the owners stops in on Fridays to drop off my pay. He forgot to this week. Had he been there to pay me like he should have been, I could have spoken with him and known that groomer friend was not being paid... So we could have contacted her much earlier in the day to avoid confusion.