Truth about working as a bather at Petsmart

christiangirl30

I’ve been working as a bather at Petsmart for about 5-6 months and there’s a lot of uncertainty on my mind, I just need to get it off my chest. First of all, I hate how Petsmart constantly pushes holiday packages and Addons to the customers like we’re working in sales. We also have so many dogs booked each day, I end up doing like 5 in a 4 hour shift or 9-10 in a 8.5 hour shift. I’m not trained to do haircuts but bathing, drying, and doing the paws takes a lot of time, not to mention the constant walk-in nails that bathers have to do. I find myself running around constantly not even taking my 15 minute break like I should be. It’s also a very dirty job as some groomers will touch some dogs poop and not even wash their hands. My salon leader pushes all the salon staff to work and do more dogs, especially since petsmart is profiting off of the bathers since we’re hourly. It’s also an insane rip-off for the customers because if I have two breeds booked in a 3-4 hr window I’ll lightly scrub the back with shampoo, not even use conditioner, and quickly brush the fur out before I call the owners. This is because I just don’t have time, and can’t enjoy what I’m doing since I’m booked with other dogs. I also don’t have any prior experience besides a LOVE for dogs, I’m a uni student, and I have 2 jobs so it’s difficult to allot days to work here more often. I was hired knowing I’m a uni student and also that I have a secondary job so only now am I seeing the true colours of the salon leader and now they don’t care about the workers but rather maximizing profits. I want to keep working here though because I’m not going to let the salon leader tear me down and quit, it’s also unique in a way and I want to become a groomer because that means that I can quit petsmart and work at a private place but also I’ll be receiving commission. I honestly feel a bit mad about how unprofessional and exhausting it is, I never would