Reactive dog and child, at wit's end

dawn4311

Hey everyone. This is my first time posting and I'm in desperate need of advice. I don't even know if this is the right sub but I don't really know where else to post.

I have an 8 year old beagle who is fear reactive and has very clear boundaries with certain things - like tail and feet touching. I will be honest and say that I have not done any work with her on her reactivity. My father passed away last year and I have been in school the past two, and before that I was living abroad. I know these aren't excuses, just details. Recently, my sister and her two children moved back home. They are 14 and 3. She is in the process of getting a divorce.

Her 14 y.o. daughter is great with the dog. She grew up with her and knows her boundaries. Her 3 y.o. son, not so much. They have a dog that is her ex husband's that they pretty much let him do whatever to, and the dog just lets it happen. Now that they are living here, that attitude has transferred to my 8 y.o. beagle, and she has not taken kindly to it.

We have warned him, we have told him to leave the dogs alone (i.e., no tail pulling, no hitting or kicking,), we have disciplined with time outs and toys taken away. I was working last night, and received a call from my mom that he did something and she reacted by nipping at him. She got him in the face. It's a small cut but it's still a cut.

My sister and I got in a heavy argument this morning about the dog. She believes that if the dog bites, the dog should be disciplined, regardless of the situation. I told her that her son NEEDS to learn that the dogs are not play things, and they have boundaries.

My dog does not bite unprovoked, and never has. She has only ever growled or nipped when there is a catalyst, even with the dog we rescued in December. They have gotten along just fine.