Please help with dog food for Lab/Basenji mix

canuckster

Hello all,

I am new to this sub and looking desperately for help. We’ve adopted a 1-2 y/o what appears to be lab/basenji mix. He is a rescue dog. We were told he is lab/heeler mix, but after having him for about a month it became apparent he is basenji mix. He looks like one, acts like one, very intelligent, gentle, etc. Simply a super dog. However, the problem comes with feeding him. He is an extremely picky eater. When we got him, we would boil chicken for him (no bone), mix with rice, potatoes, veggies, and all the food we eat. He was on meds and we wanted to take it easy first 10 days. He loved the food and loves everything we eat, but absolute refuses to eat dry food (apparently basenjis have this issue). We tried sooo many different food. Cheap, expensive, farm/family businesses made, popular brands, and none seem to work. At pet clinic we were told to experiment and the he would not starve himself and eventually eat. He does, but only not to die. He lost little weight and now we noticed little more shedding (none before on home food). He is super smart and I suspect he doesn’t want to eat dry food because he knows its bad for him. However, we don’t know what’s good for him. I can’t make him a 3 course full cooked meal everyday while meeting his nutrition needs. I also can’t keep buying bags of dog food and take it to a shelter after he refused to eat it. Tried samples and also no-no. What do I need to feed him? Please help!

Edit:Grammar

@canuckster I can certainly help with a raw diet. It’ll take a bit of prep but with dog that small it’s super easy. I don’t have anything to give but that. A raw diet can be the best diet for many dogs but it’s not for everyone. Many dogs who refuse to eat will chow down a raw diet. The same goes for cooked diets but that nutrition is more complicated.