PLEASE HELP ME!!!

nogueira527

Hi guys, I’m a recent college grad (22f) and am living in an apartment alone. This isn’t my first time living alone, and I actually prefer it so that’s not the issue. I recently was given a dog by my aunt who owns a dog rescue. I knew going in that this dog was going to be a little bit of a challenge because of her life prior to being rescued, but I have been the primary caregiver to my parents’ dogs for the last several years so didn’t think it would be too much of an issue.

For context, my dog was found in an animal hoard in a trailer. She and 12 other pit bulls were in cages in this trailer for god knows how long without food or water or outside contact. It was so bad that two of the dogs actually ate one that had starved to death so that they wouldn’t die of starvation. Obviously I knew that my dog might have some eccentricities, but I think I was unprepared for just how sad she is all the time. She was briefly being fostered by my aunt who told me that she was a little strange (no social skills, doesn’t really understand toys, etc) but was generally doing extremely well and was very very happy. I definitely believe that, but I think she just hates my apartment, which is causing her to regress massively.