Planning to adopt a dog and I have some questions

kimiad

My main question and concern is my work schedule. I work 2-3 12h shifts a week (7am-7pm). However, my husband is usually off at 3-4pm (but he travels occasionally). Even tho I’m planning to adopt an adult dog and I don’t mind to consider daycare when my husband is traveling I’m really worried about the dog having accidents around the apartment.
If there’s anyone with the similar problem how do you deal with it?
Any answer is appreciated!

@kimiad Dogs, even adult dogs, will have accidents, more frequently when they get sick/older. You need to accept that you will be cleaning up piss, shit, and vomit. If this is a problem, then please don't get a dog, only to abandon it later when the reality of owning a dog becomes "too much".

@res Thank you for your response. I’m totally fine with accidents and “mess” (I work in healthcare and cleaning up piss, shit, and vomit is a part of my job) but I don’t want a dog to be stressed and unhappy. I understand that having a dog is a lot of responsibility and that’s why I’m asking questions lol

@kimiad Is there anyone you are close with who would be happy to come over on those long days and take the dog for a walk? Or even hire a dogwalker for some days. It would make a huge difference for the dog.

@oort7 My husband can walk a dog during his lunch breaks (his work is like 5-10 min drive from our place), and I’m considering a dog walker or day care when he’s not available to do that

@kimiad That would work. If it isn't too expensive, your husband may not even have to use his lunch to walk your pet. I think that plan would work put great for your new dog.

@kimiad Consider piddle pad training or getting one of those doggy grass patches for your pup from the start like this:

https://www.amazon.com/Artificial-B...a5a96f11362333fbaae4df5bc223446d&gad_source=1