Need help with training morals, my head hurts lol

nc17

I’m a cross over trainer, kinda. I went from balanced training and after being failed by multiple trainers I transitioned over to R+. For more Detail on this one trainer got my dog attacked in class and blamed me for it, I was questioned and made to feel like a fool for wanting to use a clicker, one trainers idea of getting her dog to be quiet in its crate was to scream and throw shit at the dog and it goes on. I realize now these trainers just sucked regardless of their methods.

I called my self a positive reinforcement trainer till I sat in a class with a strictly R+ trainer. When a dog jumped on her she did absolutely nothing and the dog just stayed there paws on her and she ignored the dog and it was more than happy just stand there. I would turn away from the dog, no knee, no correction but I’d stop the behavior from continuing and then call the dog back me give it a cue for the replacement Behavior. This made me realize I was still using P- and suddenly couldn’t call myself a positive only trainer. I made my whole training circle R+ people and slowly started seeing small issues. It took a while since I own a dog that is extremely sensitive, I could look at him wrong and he’d cower. He thrives on R+ and P-, P+ is too harsh for him and In the beginning correcting him for dog reactivity made it worse. Counter conditioning using the CARE method literally solved all our issues within four months and we still practice but it’s been years without issue. I thought P+ was useless seeing as it never helped my dog and only made things worse.