My Friend is feeding his dog ground beef, black beans, and green beans only. Is he crazy?

younggenius

He has a 9 year old boxer mix named Dominic. Every day he gives him two meals, each consisting of 1/2 cup cooked ground beef, 1/2 cup black beans, and 1/2 cup green beans. I found this out because I am dog-sitting Dominic now. My eyebrows definitely raised a bit when I received the supplies and instructions for how I was to feed him.

I've heard of feeding all natural diets, but was under the impression you had to feed a wider variety of meat, bones, and organs such as liver etc for them to get more vitamins.

I feel like Dominic can't possibly be getting proper nutrition from this diet. What are you guys thoughts?

@younggenius I’m no expert, but I seriously considered feeding my dogs raw before. They most definitely do need bones and organ meats, along with a variety of different types of meat. Bones are mostly for making sure their teeth are kept clean. Cooked chicken/beef are okay if their tummy doesn’t feel good and they’re used to kibble, but cooking the shit out of meat takes away all the nutritional value for dogs (I read, not 100% sure). They also don’t need vegetables, but my dogs love a good carrot for a snack, so here and there isn’t bad. I’m part of a raw fed group on Facebook and they have TONS of information. Don’t shame him, but maybe bring up joining there, if he uses FB, under the impression that they’ll give him tips and more information from people that also choose to feed their dogs meat instead of kibble.

@younggenius Could he have added the vitamins to the meat already? If not, then it isn’t balanced, you don’t need powdered or pill vitamins necessarily, you can get the needed vitamins from plants but only black beans and green beans isn’t enough variety and won’t provide all the vitamins needed.