My dog (1.5 y.o. spayed female mutt) won’t settle down in the evenings

rosesanddaisies

Hello fellow dog lovers! This is my first time posting here. I adopted Echo, a female mutt who has lots of active breeds in her according to Wisdom Panel (German Shepard, Great Pyrenees, boxer, lab, and beagle, to name a few) in August 2020 at 12 weeks old. She is the light of my life and I adore her!

From the start, it was clear she was an active and intelligent dog who needs stimulation and activity in order to get her energy out. From the start, we’ve socialized her with other dogs and walked her at least an hour each day off leash in the woods + playtime of course. I’m a nurse who works full time, so my mom who works part time watches her while I’m at work. There is not a single day where she doesn’t get at LEAST an hour of hard exercise. My mom (or me, if I’m not working) walks her off leash in a local wooded park (we have an off-leash permit) for an hour during the day. If she’s working, she goes to full-day doggy daycare and does come home exhausted and happy.

When I come home from work around 6, Echo is happy to see me and wants to play for a bit but then generally settles down for a bit. However, around 8-9 pm, JUST the time I want to relax on the couch with a glass of wine, she becomes restless and just stares at me and will even whimper and bark until I acknowledge her. But then, even if I give her attention and play with her, it seems like she’s not interested; she’s just restless and doesn’t know what to do with herself. I try giving her bones or Kongs to stimulate her, or let her outside, but as soon as she finishes she’s staring at me again and pawing at me to acknowledge her.