looking for some feedback

user_x

so ive been working at a groomers for 6 years now. (grooming for about 3 of those years while learning on the job) recently my boss got sick and asked me to work a day alone. feeling up for the task, i accepted and the day went by without a hitch. I talked to customers, groomed all the dogs without incident, and even learned how to operate the credit card machine. in essence i ran the business for a day and did pretty damn well.

now onto my question. ! started grooming at 9 and finished around 4. 3 standard doodles, a cavalier (shave), cockapoo, bichon, and a lab bath. I combed out, preshaved, bathed, hand dried, and groomed all 7 myself. im just interested to know if this is a good ratio of hours worked to dogs groomed for someone who has been grooming for about 3 years now. i know its different for everyone but im just looking for others personal standard so i can kind of get an idea of where I'm at in terms of efficiency. Is this below or above average?

@user_x I've been grooming for 5 years and don't do that maNy dogs because my body can't handle it anymore. Don't compare yourself to others. Do what is comfortable for YOU. There's no standard of how many dogs you should be getting done. It's different for everyone. You're doing good.

@hope414 hm, understood completely. just looking to hear other peoples experience in the field. thank you for sharing! after working alone yesterday my back was on fire, so i can definitely relate to how physically demanding the job is

@user_x Other people's experiences shouldn't matter to you. You're gonna get people that say 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9,10.

Again, there's no standard. If your back was on fire, listen to it. Don't over do it trying to prove you can groom x amount of dogs. I did that, and now I have permanent damage. Please take care of yourself. You come first.