Incidents

broken1989

Hi everyone, I’ve been feeling really down because in the last few months I’ve had a few pet incidents. I’ve been grooming for 6 months now but in the first 4 months I had no incidents. Now in the last two months I’ve had 4! I feel like an idiot because they’ve all been silly little mistakes:
  1. A dog sat down while I was scissoring her belly and I pinched her skin and made a tiny cut (barely bled at all but due to p&p had to take her to the vet
  2. When shaving inside of the ear I caught the little flap and cut it
  3. When scissoring a paw pad I accidentally pinched a toe and nicked it
  4. I did #2 again. I was being more careful but this time it was a little cavapoo who kept jumping randomly and she jumped while I was shaving her ear :( I’m just done shaving the inside of ears I guess
It’s just making me feel like a terrible groomer I can’t believe I went 4 months no accidents and know I keep nicking dogs. Everyone else in my salon is doing great and I feel awful. What can I do to keep from doing these dumb little mistakes? Everyone always says just slow down, but I’ve only ever nicked a dog when when things are slow and they’re one of my only dogs and I’m not rushing at all.

@broken1989 Don't beat yourself up. When I first started, some of my pets needed stitches. I've been grooming over 25 years now and today while shaving inside a schnauzers ear. he jumped, and I scratched it. It happens. As time goes on. it will not happen very often, if ever. It's hard being a new groomer!

@broken1989 Shit happens. We work with sharp tools on living things that won't sit still. It's only a matter of time but with enough time and experience it will happen less often and you can often minimize the damage. The first year and half or so are going to be the worst for you.

Take the time to process each incident. Examine what you did and what you could have done differently. Learn from each one so that you can be safer going forward.