In pursuit of greener grass

whygetmarried

I have been grooming full time since 2016. I am confident in my abilities enough to know I am a pretty good groomer. The shop I work at currently the set up is frankly gross. There are many sacrifices made for safety, cleanliness, and efficiency seemingly only for the benefit of the shop owner. She does not groom dogs herself however her sister does groom at the shop. The sister is not in any position over the rest of the groomers and we all make 50% commission w2. I’ve tried to make suggestions to help because frankly it’s embarrassing and I am increasingly burned out. However they mostly have been ignored or upsets the sister because she views me as a threat even though she herself seems to never take initiative herself to try and help fix things. I know there is no “how to run a small business grooming salon for dummies” however my boss is infrequently not in the shop and is painfully slow to implement change(if ever) literally all the groomers shit talk behind her back about needing (including the sister she never says anything I’ve spent a lot of time trying to encourage her) We desperately need a shop manager of some sort who’s job is mostly managing the shop. I had a conversation with my boss about this a few years ago, I did volunteer because I can’t suggest this sort of role with out being willing to do it, and she seemed receptive and understandably said she had to talk to her sister first and offer the position to her first. I too have a sister, I get it. The sister did not react well to any of this and said “I’m just this new person coming in and taking what is rightfully hers”since then we are still managerless. We don’t do inventory, we don’t mop when we have an “open environment” we have had a recent bordetella outbreak. There is 0 discipline as well the hourly bathers do whatever they want at the expense of the commission groomers. The problem is I actually love my boss as a person she is so kind but being