Fostering a Heeler - I’m an ACD noob

dani

Hi all!

Fostering a 3 month old heeler puppy who was rescued from a puppy mill. Our resident dog is a 2.5 yr old little mix (about 50 lbs).

It’s only been 48 hours, but had a few questions for y’all since she is very different from our resident pup!!

1) whining and squeaking: this gal is VOCAL. If she’s not sleeping, it’s like being haunted by an angry mouse. I know a lot of this is nerves, but anyone have success training more of a quiet disposition? Thus far, we’ve just been ignoring when she’s whining, and loving on her while she’s quiet.

2) Dog aggression? She’s still really young, and sounds like has had positive dog experiences before? But seemed kinda inclined to go at our resident dog? Pittie comes on a little strong, but is very much a lover and hasn’t lunged, or growled, etc. (but some excited barking). She, however, growls, lunges, bites towards his face etc. I’m guessing some of this is genetic/herding disposition? And of course, nerves! But wanted some advice on how to get them to at least cohabitate peacefully! They’ve pretty much been fully separated after their first 20 minute “greeting” outside. We had success getting them to sleep on opposite ends of the couches (both leashed). Mostly looking for advice or similar situations that had a peaceful resolve ☺️

Overall, she is SO sweet and affectionate towards humans, so darn cute, and very curious! I know they are VERY high energy, very intelligent, have strong herding tendencies and can be very cautious around new humans/dogs. Hoping for some other insights into these pups to make her stay here positive, and to not drive us too crazy lol

@dani