Forced to rehome, should I get my best friend back?

davidcochrane

This topic has been something I’ve been bottling up for two years. I’ve sought out advice from multiple people and still don’t know what’s right for Leo.

I got Leo from a well known shelter in my hometown. My (boyfriend at the time) ex and I adopted him at eight weeks old. I was 19 and stuck in an emotionally and financially abusive relationship (this is a whole different story for a different community). My ex was an addict who stole a large sum of money from me while I worked full time to pay for all of our bills. This meant my ex was the main caretaker for Leo during the daytime.

Leo was a high energy boxer/pit mix. My ex taught him to play rough like his dad’s lab. I tried to explain that the way he played with Leo encouraged rough housing and other dogs could not keep up with how strong he was. Leo got along well with other dogs for the most part until towards the end. He had a disdain for small dogs and I could no longer take him to the dog park.

I broke up with my ex and kicked him out of house upon finding he lied about his sobriety (he was a manipulative person at his core, so it was beyond addiction that did me in). Leo was about four/five months old at this point. Thanks to my ex lacking proper skills to train him during the days, he struggled to potty train and unlearn his rough playing ways. I accept I am also to blame for this behavior. This was one of the lowest points of my life and I would bed rot for hourrrrs. Again, that is no excuse for being a lazy dog mom. However, there is no fiber in my being that loves that dog. He was my best friend at my very worst. I gave him everything I could, but my mental health could not keep up.