Fellow GSD owner tips??

paterfamilia

Hello I’ve got a 2 year old female American showline GSD. We’ve had her for about 6-7 months so far. She’s a rescue and is very leash reactive, she used to pull like a mother trucker but now only does it if she sees another dog or realllllly has to go the bathroom. When I got her she knew nothing besides being potty trained. She’s leant sit, stay, lay, wait, both paws shake, my main issue are her reactivity and leave it command. We’re slowly slowly making progress with two years worth of her not being trained, I know I’m in for a journey but was hoping for some tips that helped y’all out throughout your training. We live in a small town that can get quite busy sometimes I try not to get too upset with her outside when she gets distracted bc Ik she can’t help it. Although I’ve been working on leave it and focus training for about two months and seeing some progress. Sorry for rambling 😂

@paterfamilia From one "powerbreed" owner to another:

Never seek other powerbreed owners out to help you with your dog. They often suggest very harsh methods that aren't necessary for these dogs. These dogs are sensitive, they do not need that.

But, as for training advice:
  • Avoid aversive "quick fixes". No leash pops, No prongs. No slip leads. No ecollars.
  • With reactivity, your goal is to keep the distance where your dog isn't reacting to the trigger. For instance, if your dog reacts at 12 feet, keep things at 15 feet where the dog notices the trigger but isn't reacting or freezing.
  • Leave your emotions outside of the training session. Being upset with the dog is not going to be conductive for your training. Anytime you start to get upset, go home. If you know something triggers you I'd avoid it.
  • Loose leash walking is a combination of multiple skills. Work on engagement before you work on loose leash walking. Start in a low distraction environment and slowly raise that distraction and keep away from triggers.