Dog size difference question

nizz

Hello. My two dogs, same breed but different size, may have bred.

There was one specific day where my male dog managed to push the gate off the wall (it’s a sturdy gate, not one of the cheap plastic ones, so I’m shocked he could do that). We believe she was in heat, she wasn’t bleeding (and hasn’t ever bled) but the male dog was going CRAZY trying to hump her every chance he got during that month.

We didn’t think anything happened because when we got home they both were calm, but now her nipples look like they could be enlarged. I’m not sure because she’s only 11 months old. (I was thinking maybe normal growing or hormones, etc. I’m not an expert).

We were waiting for her to turn a year old to spay her, since we didn’t believe she would get big enough to be able to carry our male dog’s pups.

That’s the context; here’s the question:

She’s 5lbs and he’s 11lbs. Will she be okay if she does end up being pregnant?
(Vet appointment already scheduled for anyone who was going to comment it).

@nizz how long ago was she bred, and when is the vet appointment?

She probably will not be ok: her age and the size difference together means that she's at a much greater risk than most pregnancies would be.

If she's not that far along, I'd do a spay abort, which is why I asked how pregnant is she.

If she's too far along for that, I'd work with the vet to schedule a C section. She is at a great risk of having a puppy stuck in the birth canal, which will kill her.

@nizz If she is pregnant, she would be a little over half to just under two thirds of the way through the gestation period. Puppies would be detectable with an ultrasound but not with an x-ray.

A Gravid-spay aka spay-abort is definitely possible at this point.