Dog counter surfs for items to destroy

nondwe

My mom’s dog is about 1.5-2 years old. She is a collie doodle mix. Any time that a human is not awake or home, she will counter surf. She doesn’t do it for food, just for whatever she can reach and chew on. I don’t under why or how to correct the behavior. For the most part, she is not alone. My sister’s dog usually comes over at least 3 times a week. She also has a ton of toys. However, we usually have to move everything off of or away from the countertop and table, or else we risk it being destroyed and or outside (depending on the seasonal availability of the dog door). I don’t know what to do to correct the behavior. I am worried about her health, as well as tired of replacing things. I’m a cat person, and I have very little experience in the realm of trainings dogs. Please help!!!

@nondwe Generally dogs pick up this behavior after they got a reward (food, a chewable object, etc) once for doing it. You need to prevent them from getting the reward (which it sounds like you’re already doing) by keeping items inaccessible/out of reach, or preferably put out of sight. Also wiping counters is important because dogs will smell food traces, which makes the whole area seem great, food or not.

You can also teach her the off/leave it command. This will help teach them that they get a reward (possibly a better reward) by not counter surfing.

I’m not sure how much exercise/play your moms dog gets regularly, but tiring her out will help as well. Even if a dog has a friend and toys, it’s generally not consistently tiring exercise/play especially for a younger dog. Dogs tend to chew on inappropriate objects because they don’t have a suitable object (doesn’t seem like the issue) and boredom. Walks, runs, frisbee, etc. where they’re moving constantly are great.