Curious

rose3279

Hi all!

I'm a hobbyist/curious about perhaps breeding my male Golden Mountain Dog. His parents are a AKC Golden Retriever (dam) and Bernese Mountain Dog (sire). He's an excellent specimen with a remarkable personality. He's sensitive, gentle, and freakishly well-behaved for an in-tact male. On top of that, he's striking. His health is excellent, and he's developing at a good pace.

So as someone curious about this, I was wondering if I could hear from some of y'all about what to consider about putting him, a mixed breed, up for stud. I should mention that last I checked, Golden Mountain Dogs aren't AKC recognized, so I don't know off-hand what to do around showing him or getting him out there. Any tips from mixed/designer breeders it definitely helpful!

Thanks!
G

@rose3279 I’m not trying to be harsh, but these are some of the struggles that prevent many designer mix breeders from following into the ethical category (at least in my book). I’m glad you are open/willing to complete all necessary health testing- that’s half the battle.

@rose3279 Proving good temperament is the hardest hurdle you will encounter. Without an unbiased third party examination- the puppy buyers have to take your word. Kennel blindness is very real. We all think our dogs are the best, but does that make them worthy of breeding?

Because he is a mix, there is no breed standard to compare him to, and no events to “prove” be meets those standards. The purpose of such events (conformation, agility, hunt trials, etc) is to show that the dog can perform both structurally and with good temperament.

@donnags1964 Heard!

This is a potentially foolish question, how do I find an unbiased evaluation? I have the word of the doggy daycare staff, and just people on the street we meet. Is there an "official" way to test that?