bought a sick puppy from a breeder, any help?

taji783

Hello reddit,
I am 17, on my birthday last year my dad bought me a golden retriever puppy as a gift. i love this dog to bits, her name is Rosalee, she’s a beautiful trained dog whom i’m extremely attached to.

About two months after her first birthday, 02/17/21, and i noticed something was extremely wrong with her, i took her to the vet and she was diagnosed with cancer, T cell lymphoma to be specific, which is not curable. she is on treatment and her estimated lifespan is 4-6 months.

i’m about $4,000 in on medical bills and as a highschool student i can’t pay for this, the vet suggested since rosalee is at such a young age this could have been an issue with the breeders irresponsibly breeding their dogs. on top of the medical bills, my dad payed $1,200 to the breeders for rosalee when she was a puppy.

we’ve communicated with the breeders what happened to rosalee in a kind tone, not asking for anything but just informing, and they never offered a refund or any sort of compensation.

i looked over the puppy contract that was
issued by the breeders and there is nothing on it that talks about puppy heath or any sort of health guarantees.

my cousin also has a puppy from the same litter whom we are monitoring closely, and thankfully she isn’t showing any signs of health issues or cancer thus far. if she does show any of the same health issues, would it be a guarantee that this is an issue with the breeders?

i feel helpless without a lot of support from my parents or even from the breeders, is there anything i can say to the breeders or do to try and get help from them? or is this something that needs to be left alone or dealt with legally? thank you for any responses, they are so highly appreciated.

the location is Colorado, United States