Aspiring dog trainer: where to learn more?

bpps

I’m an aspiring dog trainer. I’m in 4-H with my dogs, a green IGP handler (with a very green dog, lol), and working on a couple other sports. Along with being an owner of reactive dogs.

Dogs are my passion and it’s my dream to own/start a dog training and boarding kennel when I graduate HS. I love helping the kiddos in my 4-H club with their dogs, and love helping out my friend’s dogs, and I want to do that. I especially want to help people and their dogs so they get the help I needed with my dogs.

I’d like to say I know a lot, but I don’t. I know some stuff, and I’ve worked a lot with my dogs. But I want to start learning MORE and start getting better and collecting more knowledge and training skills.

Are there any course or places or anything I can do to learn more? I want to start going to Seminars and stuff (not even sure how seminars work or how to find some close to me). I also think I might watch some Fenzi seminars. But, what else can I do? I’d love to take a Karen Pryor course (and a couple others), but not sure if I can since I’m under 18.

I do know of a trainer I was recommended to by my vet, who told me to see if I could be her apprentice, but I’m too afraid to reach out and that she’ll say no (especially since I’m more open minded approach rather than R+ like her).

But, yeah. Where can I start learning more?

Thank you!

@bpps Start with the recommended trainer. You will learn a lot, even if the style isn't what you intend to utilize later.

I ride horses, and I like to take a lesson from my primary instructor weekly - but I also take lessons occasionally from a variety of coaches. Every one of them is trying to help me work toward the next goal, and they all have slightly different approaches - so I think of it like binocular vision - seeing the same goal from two different points of view helps me get a more 3-dimensional view!