2.6 lb Chorkie

cjdmom

My previous dog was a 13 year d, 38lb mix breed he died a week ago last Sunday. I loved him dearly.

I saw my chorkie on a breeder on Facebook and knew if I didn’t get her, she would sell. I got her a week ago. I live with my 92 y o mom. I’m a school nurse on spring break. She has a Brussel face. She’s adorable.

This puppy is everything I would ever want. She’s being dogdoor trained. She’s had two pee accidents in the house and one poop. The rest is outside. To me she’s doing great.

She won’t get above 5 lbs. I bought a puppy sling. I’m a runner/walked/5k, etc…. I would never expect her to run races, she’s way too tiny. I bought a pet stroller for when it gets warmer. Kitty sweaters, kitty collar, kitty toys (no cat nip). She eats and drinks water, tiny amounts at a time. She has her first vet appointment tomorrow., As for official training, I’m off the summer, I’ll put her into puppy training. I’d love for her to be a therapy dog, or a service animal. (We’ll see.

I crate her at night next to my bed., She is a very happy puppy. I take her places. I’ve not left her alone.

My mom doesn’t drive. On Friday, my mom has an appointment. Yes I’m tempted to take the puppy sling. But I’ll crate her with treats and toys. I’ll do a short time tomorrow and see how she does.

Pixie gets tons of exercise. Loves to play in my yard., she likes to chase me. She plays until she drops.

Question: am I doing everything I can to give her the best puppy year ever? Have I missed anything? How else can I celebrate her? It was quick after my 13 yo dog passed., But knew she was the puppy I wanted.

@cjdmom There’s no right or wrong time frame to wait until you get another pup. A short amount of time doesn’t diminish the love you have for your previous pup. You can grieve the loss and open your heart to a new companion at the same time.